Skip to main content
HomeOrganization & History

About the FCA Organization

The Florida Commodores Association serves as a greatly needed link among Florida yacht clubs. It provides for the exchange of information among clubs on a statewide basis. Its educational program is designed to improve the quality of leadership in yacht clubs by providing instruction in the proper functioning of clubs and the customs and courtesies of yachting. It provides a much needed social link among past commodores, current commodores and future commodores of yacht clubs in the state of Florida.


Our association was incorporated on December 16, 2008.

Our Vision

The Florida Commodores Association is the leading fraternal, educational and social organization for past, present and future Yacht Club Commodores in the State of Florida.

Our Mission

Enhance the value of yacht club membership while ensuring the viability of member clubs by preserving yachting customs and traditions through the:
 Establishment of educational programs
 Promotion of social interaction
 Sharing of leadership knowledge and experience
 Support of club leadership
 Creation of a foundation to support sailing


The Chapter is the basic unit of the Association.  A Chapter consists of five (5) or more members, from one or more yacht clubs.  A Chapter may be chartered to a particular yacht club if all of the Chapter members are current members of that club, or it may be chartered to a geographic region.

Florida Commodores Association…a brief history

Florida’s Past Commodores celebrate December 16, 2008 as the natal day of the Florida Commodores Association (FCA), since it was on that day that a group Past Commodores gathered in Gainesville, Florida at the Cabot Lodge to approve newly promulgated articles of incorporation.  

The FCA’s founders sought to form a union of Florida’s Past Commodores to better serve Florida yacht clubs and their membership.  The founders were: Philip Bouckaert, Richard (Dick) Kelly, Chari Stanley-Leitch, Larry Kimmerling, Thomas Reynolds, John Matthews, and Richard Oakley.  These seven founders then served as the initial Board of Directors (BOD).  

The purpose of the new Florida Commodores Association is contained in Article III of the Articles of Incorporation as reads,” …to provide an entity, consisting of Past Commodores of recognized yacht clubs in Florida and North America, for the purposes of preserving and enhancing the noble traditions and customs of yachting, the sea, sailing and motoring vessels, seamanship, and other matters relating to the lore of the sea through educational, charitable and social programs.” 

An early distinction among members was established to recognize “Charter Members”.  Members and Associates who joined the FCA prior to July 1, 2009 have the honorary designation of “Charter Member” and are entitled to wear a special lapel pin in recognition of their member status.  

The inaugural membership meeting was held in Orlando, Florida on April 18, 2009, just 125 days after formation of the FCA. Since 2009, the FCA has held general membership meetings quarterly at different member yacht clubs.  Recording of the major activities of the FCA are primarily available in the Florida Commodores Journal.

Past Commodores of the Florida Commodores Association

Philip J. Bouckaert - 2008 - 2009

Ronald F. Richards* - 2009 - 2010

Thomas G. Reynolds  - 2010 - 2011

John H. Matthews - 2011 - 2012

Larry M. Kimmerling - 2012 - 2013

John M. Slattery - 2013 - 2014

June Ann Degraw - 2014 - 2015

Wayne M. Stewart - 2015 -2016

Sam Foreman - 2016 -2018

Carole Lick - 2018 - 2019

Montgomery 'Jack' Kennedy - 2019-2021

Ray Dewrell - 2022

Bob Sutton - 2023


We also acknowledge the following members who served as Presidents of IOBG District 8 before the formation of FCA.

Richard E. Oakley

Louis J. Daniello

Joseph A. Tringali

Montgomery ‘Jack’ Kennedy

Richard Janisewski